Piedmont, in its Italian called Piemonte, which means “foot of the mountain”. The region is located in the northwest corner of Italy, at the foot of the Alps(hence the name). The principal wine city of Piedmont is Asti, this is southeast of Turin(Torino).

The region is most famous for their interesting red wines called Barbera and Nebbiolo. The other famous wines from this region include the white wines and sparkling wines. The annual production of Piedmont counts to about 115 million gallons of wine, which makes it the seventh-largest producer of wine in Italy. Piedmont is also known for the well-known Italian sweet vermouth. This is made by infusing a base wine with different barks, herbs and spices.

Two of the most important wines in Italy include the Barolo and Barbaresco, these are both grown in Piedmont from the Nebbiolo grape. Barolo, the best known of the two, comes from the district that gives it his name. The wine usually needs a lot of aging in both barrel and bottle. In the neighbouring area, the Barbaresco wine is produced, it makes a wine that is less body and has less colour. Both of these wines have the classification of DOCG, the highest possible classification in Italy.

Other wines that are notable for this region are the Gatinara and Ghemme, these are also made from the Nebbiolo grape. But this wine is blended with other grape varieties grown in the region. They are known to be inferior to the Barolo and Barbaresco but is still better than the simple Nebbiolo wines.

A grape that is famous in Piedmont is the Barbera grape, this grape is more widely grown in the area than the Nebbiolo variety. The wines made from this grape variety produce a dry, fruity, dark and astringent red wine. The grape can also be styled sweet, this is then called Frizzante, and these are semi-sparkling.

Grignolino, Freisa and Dolcetto are another three red wine varieties grown in this area.The first, Grignolino, produces light, dry red wines. The Dolcetto, more widely grown, produces a more flavourful and full-bodied wine. The latter, Freisa produces a wine with an aroma that would be characterized as violets. Freisa is considered a wine that is superior to the other two varieties. Three examples of good wines produced from these grapes are Grignolino d’Asti, Dolcetto d’Alba and Freisa di Chieri.

Piedmont has two DOCG classifications:

-          Barbaresco

-          Barolo

Piedmont has 34 DOC classifications:

-          Asti Spumante

-          Barbera d’Alba

-          Barbera d’Asti

-          Barbera del Monferrato

-          Boca

-          Brachetto d’Acqui

-          Caluso Passito

-          Caluso Liquoroso

-          Carema

-          Colli Tortonesi

-          Dolcetto d’Acqui

-          Dolcetto d’Alba

-          Dolcetto d’Asti

-          Dolcetto delle Langhe Monregalesi

-          Dolcetto di Diano d’Alba

-          Dolcetto di Dogliami

-          Dolcetto d’Ovada

-          Erbaluce di Caluso

-          Fara

-          Freisa d’Asti

-          Fresa di Chieri

-          Gattinara

-          Gavi/Cortese di Gavi

-          Ghemme

-          Grignolino d’Asti

-          Grignolino del Monferrato Casalese

-          Lessona

-          Malvasia di Casorzo d’Asti

-          Malvasia do Castelnuovo Don Bosco

-          Moscato d’asti

-          Moscato Naturale d’Asti

-          Nebbiolo d’Alba

-          Rubino di Cantavenna

-          Sizzano


This particular region is situated south of Emilia-Romagna and it might be the most important region of Italy and perhaps the most characteristically Italian. The Etruscans were the first to cultivate wine in Tuscany in the ninth century B.C. The Romans advanced the techniques that the Etruscans brought, and whilst and after the Fall of the Roman Empire, the Christians advanced these techniques even further. During the Middle ages it was Florence and Siena who fought over control of the Tuscany wine-growing region. Florence, the capital of Tuscany, was also the city were the Renaissance first flowered.

Tuscany was the region where Catherine de’ Medici, she was the lady who brought Haute Cuisine to France, after this, she married Henry the 2nd. She also brought etiquette to France, teaching the French to use a fork at the table. Tuscany was also the region were the following great minds were born: Amerigo Vespucci, Leonardo da Vinci, Machiavelli and Giovanni da Verazano. Michelangelo, Galileo, and many other genius minds also worked in the region of Tuscany. But wine, along with olive oil, is the most important agricultural product of the Tuscany region.

There are some very noble, and some quite ordinary wines. The wines of this regions have been grown on the hills and open countryside vineyards that have been there for centuries.

Tuscany has 11 DOCG classifications:

  • Brunello di Montalcino 
  • Carmignano 
  • Chianti
  • Chianti Classico
  • Elba Aleatico Passito/Aleatico Passito dell’Elba 
  • Montecucco Sangiovese 
  • Morellino di Scansano 
  • Rosso della Val di Cornia/Val di Cornia Rosso
  • Suvereto DOCG Vernaccia di San Gimignano 
  • Vino Nobile di Montepulciano

Tuscany knows 41 DOC classifications:

  • Ansonica Costa dell’Argentario
  • Barco Reale di Carmignano
  • Bianco dell’Empolese
  • Bianco di Pitigliano
  • Bolgheri
  • Bolgheri Sassicaia
  • Candia dei Colli Apuani
  • Capalbio
  • Colli dell’Etruria Centrale
  • Colli di Luni
  • Colline Lucchesi
  • Cortona
  • Elba
  • Grance Senesi
  • Maremma Toscana
  • Montecarlo
  • Montecucco
  • Monteregio di Massa Marittima
  • Montescudaio
  • Moscadello di Montalcino
  • Orcia
  • Parrina
  • Pomino
  • Rosso di Montalcino
  • Rosso di Montepulciano
  • San Gimignano
  • San Torpè
  • Sant’Antimo
  • Sovana
  • Terratico di Bibbona
  • Terre di Casole
  • Terre di Pisa
  • Val d’Arbia
  • Val d’Arno di Sopra/Valdarno di Sopra
  • Valdichiana Toscana
  • Val di Cornia
  • Valdinievole
  • Vin Santo del Chianti 
  • Vin Santo del Chianti Classico 
  • Vin Santo di Carmignano 
  • Vin Santo di Montepulciano 


A region that does not have the best soils of the country, in fact, one of the worst. The only agriculture that is done on the slopes of the dormant volcano of Mount Vulture, is growing wine. The best wine produced in the region is the Aglianico del Vulture that is known for its dark colour and being rather astringent. It can be called Vecchio if the wines has had three years of ageing. It can be called Riserva when aged for five years. There are white table wines made in this region from the Malvasia and Moscato grape varieties.

The Basilicata region knows only four DOC classifications:

  • -          Aglianico del Vulture
  • Matera 
  • Terre dell'Alta Val d'Agri
  • Grottino Di Roccanova

There is only one DOCG classification in the region:

  • Aglianico del Vulture Superiore